On 2 April 2020, North Macedonia has become the ninth participating country of the EU Strategy for the Adriatic and Ionian Region (EUSAIR), joining Croatia, Greece, Italy, Slovenia, Albania, Bosnia & Herzegovina, Montenegro and Serbia. It has officially become the member of EUSAIR family and will coordinate, jointly with Italy and Serbia, the Pillar 2 – Connecting the Region.

The inclusion of North Macedonia will reinforce the political dimension of the Strategy, strengthen regional cooperation and broader multi-level policy dialogue for a more integrated and sustainable Adriatic-Ionian macro-region, also in connection with the enlargement of the EU to Western Balkans.

The Addendum to the EUSAIR communication and the New EUSAIR Action Plan are the official documents that testify the accession of North Macedonia to the EUSAIR.